Tropical Storm Calls For Tropical Lunch!

With Hurricane Eddie being tamed down to a tropical storm, I started to feel like I was in the caribbean. Many of you probably don’t know this, but I LOVE the caribbean. Particularly Jamaica. By now you probably know what I had for lunch. Everytime I go to these guys I long to be back in Jamaica. Not this yeat unfortunately, but for now Jamaican Dutchy will temporarily do to cure my Jamaican food fix!
Photobucket

I have been going to these guys for about two years now and have probably sampled everything on their menu. To me the two items I consistently long for however are their Jerk Chicken and believe it or not their beef patties. So on this day where we are welcoming a tropical storm I decided to go with that winning duo!
When I do get a beef patty I opt for their mini meal lunches as well. For those of you not familiar with the Dutchy, they serve three sizes – the mini meal which is the shape of a Big Mac container, the small which is your standard styrofoam take out container and the larger which is a little bigger than the small. Depending on what you get the sizes will vary in price.
Their Jerk chicken is very tasty. Lots of spices put into it. Sometimes its very spicy but sometimes its not. But its always tasty. My only knock on the jerk chicken, too many small bones sometimes. The rice and peas are also excellent especially when they are smeared with the gravy from the jerk chicken. Their beef pattys have a very meaty and sweet taste from the patty crust. Outside of having a patty in Jamaica, the Dutchy serves up one of the best beef patties I have ever had…bar none!
Photobucket

Now for what might be my over the top statement of the day – for the money, the quantity and quality of food…Jamaican Dutchy is one of the top three mobile vendors in NYC. There I said it!
No need for a verdict today…my previous statement said it all. If you have’t gone yet, get down there and get yourself a plate. If you’re like me, you will still be visiting them two years later!

Truck and Food Type: The Jamaican Dutch – Jamaican Food (51st Street b/w 6th and 7th aves)
The goods and price: Jerk Chicken w/ Rice & Peas (mini meal size) – $6.50 / Beef Patty – $2.00
Total Spent- $8.50 – For the amount of food, quality and price – one of the best deals in NYC!

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

